
2012 New Laws for California Drivers

Vehicle, Penal, and Other Codes

  

California Law is encompassed in 29 codes altogether, all of which can be researched by
clicking California Codes . Covina Police Department officers most commonly enforce Penal,
Vehicle, and Health and Safety Code violations, as well as Covina
Municipal Codes
.

  

Child Safety Seat Distribution Programs in Los Angeles County

  

Changes in the law increased protection of children in California. As of January 1, 2012, all
children under age 8 are required to ride in a safety seat or booster in the back seat. All children
under age 16 are required to ride properly buckled up in safety belt, booster or safety seat. Most
children need a booster to fit properly in a safety belt until they are 10 to 12 years old. Parents
and other drivers may be cited for failing to transport a child properly (the parent gets the ticket
if the driver is not in the car). The fine may be reduced or waived only if the defendant shows
proof of economic disadvantage to the court. If the fine is waived or reduced, the court must
refer the defendant to a violator program. At least 60% of the base fine is allocated to the local
city or county health department for safety seat education and distribution programs. For more
information about the law go to www.carseat.org   OR    Child_safety_information_2012.pdf

  

Child Passenger Restraints

  

California Vehicle Code (CVC) 27315 has amended the definition of "properly restained by a
safety best" as:

  

* Lower lap portion of the belt as crossing the hips or upper thighs

  

* Upper shoulder portion of the best, if present, as crossing the chest
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http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/calaw.html
http://www.codepublishing.com/ca/covina/
http://www.codepublishing.com/ca/covina/
http://www.carseat.org
images/webuser/Police/PDF_documents/Child_safety_information_2012.pdf
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* In limousines, taxicabs, and emergency veicles, passengers 8 or older in the front seat must
be properly restrained by a

  

safety belt

  

CVC 27360 and 27360.5 were amended to change the minimum age from 6 to 8 years of age

  

CVC 27361 deleted the reference to the weight of a child.

  

CVC 27363 mandates the following:

  

* A child under 8 who is 4'9" or taller, amy be properly restrained by a safey belt, rather than a
Child Passenger Restraint

  

System

  

* Children younger and smaller than described above may ride in the front seat when:

  

* There is no rear seat

  

* The rear seats are side-facing jump seats

  

* The rear seats are rear-facing
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* The Child Passenger Restraint System cannot be installed properly in the rear seat

  

* All rear seats are already occupied by children 7 years of age or less

  

* Medical reasons require the front seat

  

CVC 27360.6 mandates the following fines:

  

First offense - $100

  

Second or subsequent offense - $250

  

Special provisions for the economically disadvantaged

  

Electric Vehicles

  

CVC 22511: Requires the EV to be plugged in for refueling when occupying an EV-designated
parking space. This section also authorizes the removal of an EV from an off-street parking
facility if the EV is not plugged in for refueling.
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