
Fees 

Side Walk Vendor $400 + $100 each additional employee 

Mobile Food Facility $400 

Administrative Fines - Sidewalk Vendor

With a City issued
permit 

$100 first violation, $200 second violation,
$500 each additional violation within one year
of first violation 

without a City issued
permit

$250 first violation, $500 second violation,
$1,000 each additional violation within one
year of first violation 

Penalties - Mobile Food Facilities

Penalties for Mobile Food Facilties are cumulative to any other
penalty provided by law. 

Visit our website to learn more, at: 

 https://covinaca.gov/city-
departments/community-development/code-

enforcement/

or scan the QR Code: 

Checklist
Be prepared to submit all of the following information to
ensure a complete application.

California Sellers Permit 

Photos of Vending Vehicle or Receptacle

Detailed Sketch and Site Plan  

$1 Million Dollar General Commercial Liability Insurance
AND Endorsement naming Covina as additional insured. 

Valid and unexpired Identification 

Maintenance Plan 

IF SELLING FOOD, ALSO:

Los Angeles County Department of Health Permit 

IF MOBILE FOOD FACILITY, ALSO: 

$2 Million Dollar Auto Insurance Policy, Covering "any
auto". May also satisfy this requirement as a $1 Million
Dollar Auto PLUS a $1 Million Dollar Umbrella/Blanket.
Both options require an endorsement naming Covina as
additional Insured. 

IF EMPLOYEES, ALSO: 

Workers Compensation Insurance as
required by the State of CA 

California Driver's License 

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) 

Vehicle License Plate Number 

FREQUENTLY ASKED
QUESTIONS 

What Radius do I need to keep debris/trash clear?
Street Vendor or Mobile Food Facility Operator shall keep

a 25 foot radius clear of any debri generated from their
operation. 

What are the Vending hours for Food Trucks?

What are the Vending hours for Street Vendors?

8:00 AM and 10:00 PM daily. In Residential Areas, the hours
are 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM 

8:00 AM to 10:00 PM daily except: 
In Residential Areas, 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM 

In nonresidential areas, the limit will not be more restrictive
than the hours of other businesses on the same street. 

in City parks, only during the hours of the park. 

Neighborhood Preservation Division 
125 E. College Street 

Covina, CA, 91723

(626) 384-5470 
codeenforcement@covinaca.gov 

VEND
ING

VEND
ING

GUID
E

GUID
E

City of 

Sidewalk Vendor 
Mobile Food

Facility 

C  A  L  I  F  O  R  N  I  A  

How long is a vendor permit good for?
If approved, a permit is valid for 12 months. Permit may be
revoked if the vendor is not compliant with the operational

requirements. Permit is non transferable. 
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Distance Sidewalk Vendor Mobile Food Facility 

3 FT off the edge of any Curb

4 FT
Must maintain a 4 FT clearance at all times on all sidewalks or pedestrian areas to allow persons to freely

pass while walking, running, or using mobility assistance devices. 

5 FT of any parking meter located on public property

10 FT
any bicycle rack, trash enclosure, waste or recycling
receptacle (except for waste receptacle used in the
sidewalk vending operation as approved by the city) 

15 FT
of a fire hydrant or connection, fire call box, or other
emergency facility, or any outdoor dining or patio dining
area, or of any ATM 

20 FT
of any traffic control device (including traffic signals/signs),
utility cabinets and/or vents, or any entrance or emergency
exit of any business during business hours

40 FT of any driveway or driveway apron 

45 FT
of a bus bench/shelter, any public transportation waiting
area/stop, or sign designating a bus/transportation stop, or
of an active construction or maintenance zone 

50 FT

of any street intersection, of any railroad crossing, or other
opening providing pedestrian or vehicular access to railroad
tracks, or within 50 FT of any field/area designed for sports
activities, or playground or exercise areas while in use. 

100 FT Other Vendors

500 FT
of a permitted certified farmers’ market, swap meet, or area designated for a temporary special permit,

during the hours of operation. City will post a notice at the location in advance of temporary special events. 

School 500 FT unless special permission granted by the school
300 FT unless special permission granted by
the school 

Other
not upon any street, alley, plaza, city owned parking
lot/facility, or other public property other than a public
sidewalk or other pedestrian path. 

not within any publicly owneed or operating
parking lot, unless the operatoer has written
permission of the owner and complies with
Chapter 5.90

Obtain CA Sellers Permit, if you are vending
food you are required to also obtain a Los

Angeles County Department of Health
Permit before applying 

Staff Review

Complete the Permit
Application. Remember

to include all required
attachments. 

If Approved, Staff will
notify the applicant to

obtain a Covina
Business License, and

will issue a Vending
Permit valid for 12

Months

Happy  

Ven ding! 

S I D E W A L K  &  M O B I L E  F O O D  V E N D I N G
The City of Covina Adopted these requirements to accommodate vendors and their equipment, while also
safeguarding the flow of pedestrian movement and ensuring no interference with police, firefighter, and emergency
medical services. This table is meant as a reference only and is not exhaustive. More detail can be found in Covina
Municipal Code Chapter 5.90


